Holts Landing Sunrise Kayak

Today is yet another Tropical Storm Day here. Day three.

Time for another virtual kayak from 2021.

Holt’s Landing is a little known kayak launch. There is a motor boat launch, a dock to walk out and enjoy sunrise and sunset and a wooded trail to hike as well.

The kayak launch is sort of buried at the back of the parking lot, a good 300 yard or so drag through a woodsy trail. Whoever planned this launch obviously never had to carry a 50+ pound kayak down a rutted trail.

I do not bother putting it on a cart because configuring the cart is not worth it that distance. I cheat and use the concrete boat ramp, but it is very slippery.

The kayak launch actually has a better paddle point, so bring a Herculean friend with you when you go. (I have been advertising for one with no such luck thus far).

Even if you are just walking, this is a fabulous sunrise location.

If your camera allows, you can get shots of the bridge twinkling blue in the distance.

This particular morning was just after a fierce storm and the sky was red, as if nature were licking her wounds in the aftermath.

I look forward to getting out here again with my new camera. If you really peer, you can just see the bridge in the middle…

Rocking on a boat is not conducive to low light photography! The colors were so spectacular that morning.

The water almost appeared to be hot lava. My imagination goes wild out here and I was imagining interplanetary travel and what the “Red” planet might look like with our ecosystem.

The sun rose, igniting the clouds in an orange flame…

And then piercing the clouds like a laser, the sun came through. The heavenly image of light bursting through darkness is one of my favorites, even though the focus is lacking.

I can’t decide if this appears heavenly or apocalyptic

 in its atomic mushroom cloud resemblance…

I decide upon heavenly as I am bathed in the glowing and growing warmth.

A gull flies by with a fresh caught fish.

My favorite capture of the day even though my mother tells me it looks like a bus driving on a road..LOL.

A green heron gazes at his reflection. There is a nice inlet to kayak here where birds are plentiful

This is a juvenile yellow crowned night heron (I think).

And I believe this is mama or papa yellow crowned night heron. This is the only place I have been able to get up close to them.

I like a good Laughing Gull and cannot imagine a beach without their raucous chuckling calls.

These fiddler crabs dash madly through the reeds with their one Hulk claw. Big claws attract the best females…

With the sunrise, it can get busy, so I head for home….

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close